The West Nordic Cooperation

The West Nordic Council is a parliamentary cooperation between Greenland, the Faroe Islands and Iceland and relates to the cooperation of the Nordic Council. There is also a cooperation agreement between the West Nordic Council and the West Nordic governments, which creates an overall cooperation framework.

The council has 18 members. Six from each country, appointed by the countries' parliaments proportionally to the individual parties' relative strength in the respective parliaments.
Each national delegation appoints a delegation president, who then serves in the West Nordic Council's Presidium. The Presidium is as such composed of three members – one from each country. The Presidency of the Presidium rotates among the three countries, so that over a three-year period, each country takes office for a term of one year. The national delegate to the West Nordic Council is the President of Inatsisartut by tradition in Greenland.

Main objectives of the West Nordic Council
The goal is to cooperate about West Nordic interests, among these by protecting the North Atlantic’s resources and culture. This is to contribute to the development of the West Nordic interests through the governments and the Naalakkersuisut, including with regard to resource management and environmental protection, etc.
In addition, the West Nordic Council follows up on the governments' and the Naalakkersuisut's West Nordic cooperation and cooperation with the Nordic Council. The West Nordic Council acts as an intermediary around West Nordic interests within Nordic cooperation. Furthermore, the West Nordic Council is the parliamentary link between the West Nordic joint committees and other inter-regional and international alliances, including the Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region.

The West Nordic Council meets twice a year. This is usually in June and August, when the Council's thematic conference and annual meeting, respectively, take place. The meetings and conferences alternates in the three countries.

The supreme authority of the Council is the annual meeting and considered as a general assembly. The Council may adopt recommendations at the annual meeting, later submitted to the parliaments of the three countries. The recommendations shapes to a way that the parliaments instruct the governments of the countries to work for the fulfillment of the recommendations.

The President of the Council meets regularly a few more times a year. The Council also has a general office staffed by a Secretary General, located in Reykjavik, Iceland.

Greenland's participation in West Nordic Cooperation
Naalakkersuisoq for Nordic Cooperation is responsible for Naalakkersuisut’s dialogue with the West Nordic Council. Naalakkersuisoq for Nordic cooperation submits the annual report on Naalakkersuisut's follow-up on the West Nordic Council's recommendations to the West Nordic Council's Secretary General. Naalakkersuisoq for Nordic Cooperation and the two Ministers of Cooperation will meet with the West Nordic Council's Presidium for an informational meeting during the Nordic Council's session.

Link to West Nordic Cooperation