Nordic Cooperation

Greenland's involvement in the Nordic region is concentrated in three forums: the Nordic Council of Ministers, the Nordic Council and the West Nordic Council

Greenland joined the Nordic cooperation in 1984. Greenland was primarily involved in cooperation with the Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers in 1984. Cooperation between Greenland and the West Nordic Council founded in Nuuk back in 1985.

Nordic Co-operation is in accordance with The Helsingfors Treaty an inter-regional cooperation. It acts as a legal basis for the official Nordic Cooperation. The agreement, originally signed in 1962, updated upon several occasions. The most recent changes came into force in 1996.

The Nordic Cooperation is one of the world's most extensive regional partnerships. The cooperation involves Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Åland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland.
The Nordic Cooperation is political, economic and cultural and an important player in European and international cooperation.

The Nordic community works toward a strong Nordic Region within a strong Europe. The Nordic cooperation wants to strengthen Nordic and regional interests and values in a global environment. Common values between countries help to strengthen the Nordic region's position as one of the world's most innovative and competitive regions.