The Research Council


The Inatsisartut Act no 5 of November 29, 2013 on research consultancy and the appropriation of research funds provide the legal basis for the Greenland Research Council. The Council is a national, independent executive agency, which is not subject to the powers of direction of Naalakkersuisut.

The Research Council covers all fields of scientific research and must have a composition where natural sciences, health sciences, social sciences, the humanities and technology are all represented. The 8 members, appointed for three years at a time, must hold at least two meetings per year. The Research Council specifies its own rules of procedure, which are then approved by Naalakkersuisut.

Naalakkersuisut appoints the president and other members of the council in their personal capacity, which means that the individual members are appointed by virtue of a comprehensive assessment of their skills and experience. The secretarial services are provided in cooperation with Naalakkersuisut and the Ministry of Education, Culture, Research and Church.




Gitte Trónheim, PhD, Lecturer, University of Greenland


Ole Geertz-Hansen , PhD, Greenland Institute of Natural Resources
Gert Mulvad, Medical Officer of Health, Greenland Center for Health Research
Ellen Lerch Høj Arnskjold, Consultant, Greenland Business Association
Pauline Knudsen, Curator, Greenland National Museum and Archive
Dorthe Petersen, Civil Engineer, Greenland Survey